Hello, humans! Here’s something else I’mma do, with each post of Amy, Captured as it comes out. It occurred to me after I’d gotten done editing the first chapter that I’m sort of representing this as a writing blog, so it’d behoove me to actually talk about the craft of writing, once in a while. So, with every chapter, I’ll spend a little time casting a jaded eye over the writing and discuss it a little; what I was thinking, what’s important, even what I’ve changed from the original release. Obviously I’ll be discussing the content of the chapter, so assume the same warnings apply there, and also that I recommend reading the chapter itself before reading this. See, I’m assuming a level of interest here that I can’t really guarantee you- if there is indeed a you– will have… ahem. Moving on, yes?

So, chapter one… I’ll be brutally honest here; I really didn’t have a plan for where this story was going when I wrote the first chapter. Well, I did have an idea of character… Sander’s character. Although even he himself has changed quite a bit since then. Really, making it all up on the fly has worked out rather well for me.

My basic idea, here, was to create a scenario in which the Doctor was the villain. Or at least, where the Doctor wasn’t the undisputed hero that he has been over the course of the last few seasons of the show itself. I’ve often found myself reflecting back over some of the actions that the Doctor has taken and been… well, uncomfortable with them. He doesn’t really seem to have a stable moral view of the world he inhabits, instead deciding good and evil on a case by case basis; it’s the reason why he can punish Harriet Jones for shooting down the Sycorax ship one Christmas, and then murder the entire Racnoss species the very next.

And that’s all really unsettling, if you think about it. This is a man with near unlimited power (though this is at least partly due to his constant wearing of the Plot Armor and liberal use of Wibbley Wobbley Timey Wimey-ness) and no responsibilities, effectively casting himself as the arbiter of justice over the entire universe. He has no right to do this. Ask yourself: aside from the fact that the entire writing staff are human, what- and this is in a universe where alien life is a fact, and the Doctor himself is one- makes the human race so important that they deserve the Doctor’s constant protection?

I think I’ll cover this more in its own blog post, but that’s the idea I was going for. The fact that Amy, Captured has sex as a central element really wasn’t at the forefront of my mind here; I wanted the story to stand on its own, and I hope that it does. Really, Sander says it himself in the chapter: he’s only in it to get at the Doctor. At least here in the beginning.

I’m actually rather pleased with how this chapter turned out, on a second read. For the longest time I refused to reread it for fear of what I might find. But it holds up pretty well, I think. The tone is in keeping with what comes after, it’s not too awkward, and sets up the basic plot rather well. I’m still less than pleased with the expository info-dump Sander gives in the beginning, but I’m also cognizant of why it has to be that way. After all, Amy needed to have this information imparted to her, too; I figured I could kill two birds with one stone and inform both her and the reader in a single audio-visual presentation. My character justification for it is that Sander’s explaining himself in order to A: get it off his chest, since it’s so present in his mind at the point we pick up the story, and B: to try and manipulate Amy by showing her that this story isn’t so cut and dried, and that the Doctor is at least partly to blame.

Of course, this doesn’t excuse Sander’s actions, and he knows this too, even remarks upon it a little later on, but I’ve never been really interested in arguing Sander’s status as the hero. He is what he is.

I’ve changed up a few things in this chapter for the repost, mostly changing the phrasing of a few sentences to make things clearer or flow better. One of the more major changes here is the switching around of the first few paragraphs where Mara and Shimizu appear. See, those two really didn’t have much of a reason for being there this early; I had no idea who they were as characters and so they come off as a bit flat, despite my pretty surface attempts to characterize them. Later, it started bothering me that, after this chapter, the two assistants seemed to switch personalities; Mara was originally the cold and distant technician who hated Amy, and Shimizu was the happy-go-lucky, bouncy one. So I went back and fixed it, switching around the two descriptions so that they match the correct character.

Why did the characters switch, you ask? Well, there’s a little reference in this chapter to the fact that Mara lost her girlfriend in the Vesperian rebellion, but that Shimizu was married to the partner she lost. I figured that she would have a greater store of hate for the person who’d caused that, so she became the one with an axe to grind, leading to the events of chapter three. This was even before Mara’s growing importance in the main plot, so she really just became the bouncy one by default.

That’s good characterization, huh? Bad author! Bad!

Another mistake is Sander’s early reference to the Earth government still existing, contradicting later passages where he refers to growing up on New Earth, which existed after the Earth was fried. In fact, the chronology for this is probably entirely out of whack with the canon explanation for it; I get the feeling New Earth exists several thousand years before it should, here, but I lack the energy to go and check. That, and I don’t really care. My universe, my rules.

As for the sex… well, this was my first time even attempting erotic fiction, so I figured I should start simple and see where it goes from there. I went for an old favorite of mine, simply having sex with a restrained woman, and transposed it to paper. As far as kink goes it’s practically vanilla, but then again I was starting simple. This is an preferential as it gets, actually; most of the sex stuff that happens in these stories occurs simply because its consensual counterpart is something I personally enjoy.

Damn, I really figured I’d have more to say about this opening chapter, but the truth is I don’t. It is what it is, you know? Not bad for a first effort, but I like to think I’ve improved since then. I’m sure there’ll be more to discuss once the story gets going and… well, and there’s actually things to talk about. Did y’all enjoy this little journey into my “creative process,” fellows?

Kurokami, signing off!